Done it!

Welcome to my first post on “Even stars explode”.

Why ‘Even stars explode’? It’s a long story, but I’d seen many cancer patients whose fear of a recurrence spoiled their quality of life. So when I came across this quote, ‘There is no certainty; there is only adventure. Even stars explode’, by Roberto Assagioli, it seemed to sum up a wonderful attitude to dealing with the aftermath of cancer treatments. I found it uplifting – an acceptance that life is a risky business (especially after cancer!) but there can be good times just around the corner, as well as bad.  Why let what may never happen spoil the here and now?

Easy to say? Yes. I’d been lucky. The treatments had worked and I had learned that the possibility of recurrence was low. But the cancer had already spread on diagnosis, treatments had been aggressive, so I was also determined not to let that possibility ruin whatever time I had left.

Life since cancer has been difficult, but also an adventure. Thanks to cancer, I’d begun speaking out to improve cancer services and along the way became an artist and writer. This quote was just what I wanted to include in my first book. But more on that later…

About bmitzi

Medical writer, author, artist. Cancer campaigner. Aiming always to improve health services and bring compassion into health care.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Done it!

  1. Caroline Gurney says:

    Great to see this new blog, Mitzi, and I like forward to reading more. Thank you for all you do as an advocate for cancer patients and cancer survivors.

  2. I mean “look” forward. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

